Mahantha Thakur registers JSP Nepal (Democratic) at EC

"Bicycle" as election symbol


August 18, 2021


Mahantha Thakur registers JSP Nepal (Democratic) at EC

JSP (Democratic) leaders Rajendra Mahato (L) and Mahantha Thakur.

KATHMANDU: Giving a formal touch to the split of Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) Nepal, Mahantha Thakur faction of the party has registered a new party under the name Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal (Democratic) at the Election Commission on Wednesday.

Thakur’s JSP (Democratic) has also formed a 24-member Central Working Committee mentioning leader Thakur as the party Chair and Rajendra Mahato as senior leader.

With the issuance of the ordinance on political parties, the Mahanta Thakur faction of the Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) had earlier on Wednesday applied with the Election Commission (EC) to register a new party named Janata Samajbadi Party (Democratic).

After losing the legal battle to claim Janata Samajbadi Party, the former Rastriya Janata Party group of JSP was waiting for the ordinance on political parties for the registration of new party.

As soon as the ordinance recommended by the cabinet was issued by the President on Wednesday, Thakur’s party went to the EC to register the new party.