JSP’s Thakur faction applies with EC to register JSP (Democratic)

New party Janata Samajbadi Party (Democratic) will have "bicycle" as election symbol


August 18, 2021


JSP’s Thakur faction applies with EC to register JSP (Democratic)

JSP (Democratic) leaders Rajendra Mahato (L) and Mahantha Thakur.

KATHMANDU: With the issuance of the ordinance on political parties, the Mahanta Thakur faction of the Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP) has applied with the Election Commission (EC) to register a new party named Janata Samajbadi Party (Democratic).

According to leader Laxman Lal Karna, the Thakur faction has applied for the registration the new party at the EC on Wednesday afternoon.

Mahantha Thakur will be the Chairman of the new party.

After losing the legal battle to claim Janata Samajbadi Party, the former Rastriya Janata Party group of JSP was waiting for the ordinance on political parties for the registration of new party.

As soon as the ordinance recommended by the cabinet was issued by the President on Wednesday, Thakur’s party went to the EC to register the new party.