NA’s eight divisions scrapped from today

Restructured into Eastern, Central, Western and Valley Command


July 16, 2021


NA’s eight divisions scrapped from today

The building of Nepal Army Headquarters located at Bhadrakali in Kathmandu. (File photo)

KATHMANDU: The Nepal Army (NA) is implementing organizational restructuring in four places from today.

With this implementation, eight previous divisions based in the Kathmandu Valley and seven provinces have been scrapped starting today.

From now onwards, three central commands based on Koshi, Gandaki and Karnali river systems and one for the Kathmandu Valley will be implemented. The army has called it a three-pronged central command.

The army has also made it clear that the new structure will not increase the existing budget and posts.

With the new structure, NA now has Eastern Command (East of Koshi),  Central Command (the area between Koshi and Gandaki), Valley Command (Kathmandu Valley) and Western Command (Karnali and Far West).

Even though the cabinet approved the implementation of the new structure last March, it is taking effect only from today due to the budget, said Santosh Ballav Poudel, spokesperson of the Nepal Army.