President Bhandari appoints NC President Deuba as new Prime Minister


July 13, 2021


President Bhandari appoints NC President Deuba as new Prime Minister

Newly elected Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba. (File photo)

KATHMANDU: President Bidya Devi Bhandari has appointed Nepali Congress (NC) President Sher Bahadur Deuba as the new Prime Minister of the country.

According to Tika Dhakal, the Press Advisor of President Bidya Devi Bhandari, Deuba has been appointed the Prime Minister as per Article 76 (5) and will be sworn into office at 6 pm this evening.

The Supreme Court on Monday reinstated the House of Representatives and ordered President’s Office to appoint Deuba to the post of prime minister within two days.. The Supreme Court had given time till 5 pm Tuesday to appoint the Prime Minister.

NC President Deuba is holding the post of Prime Minister for the fifth time now.

He was elected as a member of the House of Representatives from Dadeldhura in 2018. He has been continuously getting elected from Dadeldhura since the 1990s.

Born at Asigram-5 of Dadeldhura district on June 13, 1946, Deuba involved in politics being inspired by the founding leader of the Nepali Congress, BP Koirala. Deuba has now been living at Budhanilkantha Municipality, Kathmandu.

Active in Nepal’s democratic movements after the political scenario of 2017 BS continuously, he started his political career from the student movement. Deuba pursued his primary education in his home district, secondary-level education in Doti, and higher education in Kathmandu, and has achieved a Master’s degree in Political science from Tribhuvan University and Bachelor’s degree in law.

Also the first elected president of the Nepal Students Union and founding member, Deuba is a research fellow of the London School of Economics in political science. He was elected in a parliamentary election in 2048 BS, 2051 BS, 2056 BS, and 2074 BS from Dadeldhura and Constituent Assembly election from Kanchanpur and Kailali in 2064 BS and 2070 BS.

Deuba was appointed as the Prime Minister for the first time from September 11, 1995, to March 9, 1997. Similarly, he became the PM for the second time from July 22, 2001, to October 4, 2002.

The then King Gyanendra Shah sacked Deuba from the post on October 4. Similarly, he became the Prime Minister on June 3, 2004, for the third time.

The then King Gyanendra again sacked Prime Minister Deuba from the post on February 1, 2005.

During his premiership in the past, he had brought the concept of Karnali-Dalit-Women, Indigenous –Madhesh aims to bring women and from the backward, marginalized and disadvantaged, Dalit and ethnic communities and from the Madhes to the mainstream of development. Several commissions like The National Women’s Commission, the Indigenous Nationalities Commission, and The National Dalit Commission were formed during his terms as the Prime Minister of Nepal.

He was the President of the Nepali Congress (Democratic), a breakaway faction of the NC. The increasing intra-party feud had led to the split in the party in 2059 BS and the formation of the NC (Democratic). The breakaway faction was merged with the mother party in 2064 BS and Deuba was granted the status of a senior leader in the unified party.

Deuba had beat the then-party-acting President Ram Chandra Poudel during the party’s 13 General Convention held on March 7, 2016, to become the party head. Party President and parliamentary party leader Deuba on June 6, 2017, was elected to the Prime Ministerial post fourth time.

He had quit the government in less than a year following the party’s defeat in the House of Representatives (HoR) election held under his leadership in late 2017 in course of implementing the constitution.

He had resigned from the post on February 15, 2018. Serving as the Vice-Chair of the Socialist International from 2008 to 2012, he has been the post of international vice-chair of the organization since 2013.

He had spent 10 years in jail at different times during his involvement in the democratic movements.

He has so far visited India, China, Bhutan, Maldives, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Japan, Qatar, South Korea, Denmark, the UK, Germany, Norway, France, Switzerland, Greece, Belgium, the USA, Colombia, and Australia.