Bipul Pokharel elected FNJ President


April 10, 2021


Bipul Pokharel elected FNJ President

Supporters of new FNJ President Bipul Pokharel cheering after win, in Kathmandu, on Saturday.

KATHMANDU: The Federation of Nepali Journalists (FNJ) has elected Bipul Pokharel as its new president.

The 26th General Convention of FNJ, the umbrella organization of the Nepali journalists, elected a 51-member new executive committee under Pokhrel’s leadership.

Pokharel garnered around 3,000 votes more than his closest contestant Nirmala Sharma. Pokharel received 6,942 votes against Sharma’s 3,915 votes. Likewise, Gajendra Budhathoki, also vying for President, secured 691 votes.

The other elected officials are Ramesh Bista as the vice president from the open category, Udaya GM as vice president from the inclusive quota and Bala Adhikari as female vice president.

Likewise, Roshan Puri is elected as general secretary, Govinda Prasad Chaulagain as secretary from open category, Narayan Sundar Kilambu as secretary from indigenous category, Dipendra Chauhan as secretary from Madhesi category and Hem Karna BK as secretary from the Dalit category.

Similarly, Pawan Acharya has been elected as associate secretary while Kalendra Sejuwal was elected as the treasurer.

Lekhnath Neupane, Mukunda Prasad Bhandari and Devi Sapkota have been elected as members of Account Committee.