Sudurpaschim CM gets vote of confidence, NC goes neutral

30 voted for Bhatt, 9 against him and 12 went neutral in the voting


June 8, 2021


Sudurpaschim CM gets vote of confidence, NC goes neutral

Sudurpaschim Chief Minister Trilochan Bhatt. Photo: RSS

DHANGADHI: Sudurpaschim Province Chief Minister Trilochan Bhatt has got a vote of confidence on Tuesday.

According to sources, when the voting on CM Bhatt’s proposal seeking vote of confidence took place, 30 out of 52 lawmakers stood for his proposal.

A total of 27 votes are required to receive a vote of confidence in the Sudurpaschim province.

Bhatt received 17 votes from CPN-UML’s Khanal-Nepal faction and 13 votes from CPN-Maoist Center.

In the meantime, seven lawmakers of CPN-UML’s KP Oli faction and two lawmakers of Janata Samajbadi Party’s Thakur-Mahato faction voted against the proposal.

The main opposition party Nepali Congress (NC), which has 12 votes in the assembly, remained neutral in the voting.

Earlier, the NC parliamentary party had decided to vote for Chief Minister Bhatt only if he did not get enough votes to show his majority.