Province 2 CM Raut taking vote of confidence today

DSP to demand Raut's resignation


October 6, 2021


Province 2 CM Raut taking vote of confidence today

Chief Minister of Province no 2 Lalbabu Raut, (File Photo)

KATHMANDU: Chief Minister of Province 2 Lalbabu Raut is taking a vote of confidence in the Provincial Assembly meeting today.

With the Democratic Samajwadi Party (DSP) led by Mahantha Thakur breaking away from the mother party one month ago, Chief Minister Raut is scheduled to secure the vote confidence today.

The Provincial Assembly meeting is taking place at 11 am. There have been criticisms saying that Chief Minister Raut has not taken the vote of confidence even after one month.

Chief Minister has to take the vote of confidence within 30 days of the split of a party as per Article 188 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal.

Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP), Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Center) are involved in the government of Pradesh 2. CPN (United Socialist) is in support of the government.

Similarly, the DSP that broke away from JSP and CPN-UML are against the government led by Raut. Of the 107-member Provincial Assembly, there are 104 provincial lawmakers, currently.

Of them, JSP has 39 lawmakers, NC has 19, DSP has 16, Unified Socialist has 13, UML and Maoist Center have 8 lawmakers each. Similarly, Nepal Federal Socialist Party has one lawmaker.

The PA meeting has not taken place since June 2.

Meanwhile, the DSP has decided to ask the resignation of Chief Minister Raut in the meeting today.