PM Deuba inaugurating Bagmati province convention today


December 2, 2021


PM Deuba inaugurating Bagmati province convention today

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba (File photo)

HETAUDA: Nepali Congress President and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba is inaugurating the Bagmati province convention of his party in the lead up to the 14th General Convention of the party in Hetauda, the capital of Bagmati Province today.

The province convention of the Nepali Congress is starting today in all the seven states simultaneously. According to the General Convention schedule of the party, the state convention will be inaugurated today and the election process will start from tomorrow.

The convention will be held in Biratnagar of Province 1, Janakpur of Province-2, Hetauda of Bagmati, Pokhara of Gandaki, Butwal of Lumbini, Surkhet of Karnali and Dhangadhi of Sudurpashchim, informed NC Spokesperson Bishwaprakash Sharma.

The Prime Minister is also scheduled to address the gathering of party cadres joining the provincial convention.

Coordinator of the convention Pradip Koirala shared that all preparations for the convention of Bagmati province have been completed.

The district convention has not started in eight districts of Pradesh 2.

Similarly, the convention has not begun in Chitwan, Makwanpur, Sindhupalchowk, Sindhuli, Nawalparasi East of Gandaki Pradesh and Banke of Lumbini Pradesh. Likewise, the convention has not started in Kailali and Achham districts of Sudurpashchim Pradesh. The district conventions will be held in all these districts after the general convention, according to the NC election committee.

Out of the 61 districts where the convention has been held, Deuba faction has bagged presidents in 31 districts whereas Poudel faction has got victory in 27 districts.

Similarly, leader Krishna Prasad Sitaula faction has won in Jhapa and Baglung districts. Bedraj Singh, who was unanimously elected president of Jajarkot, has so far appeared neutral.

Nepali Congress is holding its 14th General Convention from December 10 to 12.