No-confidence motion filed against Province 1 CM Rai

Three ministers resign en masse, Bhim Acharya proposed new CM


December 27, 2020


No-confidence motion filed against Province 1 CM Rai

Province 1 Chief Minister Sherdhan Rai. (File photo/RSS)

BIRATNAGAR: A no-confidence motion has been filed against Province 1 Chief Minister Sherdhan Rai on Sunday.

The no-confidence motion registered at the Provincial Assembly Secretariat has the signatures of 36 lawmakers.

Outgoing Minister Economic Affairs and Planning of Province 1 Indra Angbo has proposed the motion, while it is supported by lawmaker Laxman Tiwari. They have proposed Bhim Acharya as the new Chief Minister.

There are 93 lawmakers in Province 1. Of them, the Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has 67 lawmakers. There are more than 40 lawmakers in favor of the Prachanda-Madhav faction and 20 lawmakers in favor of Chief Minister Rai.

Earlier today, three Province 1 ministers of Nepal Communist Party (NCP) Pushpa Kamal Dahal alias Prachanda and Madhav Kumar Nepal faction resigned.

Minister for Social Development Jeevan Ghimire, Minister of State for Social Development Jasmaya Gajmer and Minister of State for Industry, Tourism, Forests and Environment Vijay Biswas tendered their resignations.

Minister for Economic Affairs and Planning of Province 1 Angbo sacked by Chief Minister Sherdhan Rai had said that he will file a no-confidence motion against the Chief Minister on Sunday.

Talking to media after the Chief Minister dismissed him on Saturday; Angbo had said that the no-confidence motion against Chief Minister Rai would be filed at the Provincial Assembly under his leadership.

CM Rai had sacked Angbo accusing the minister of being active in bringing a no-confidence motion against him.

The Prachanda-Nepal faction had on Friday registered a no-confidence motion against Bagmati Chief Minister Dormani Poudel.