Newly-merged Janata Samajbadi Party leaders reach ECN for registration « Khabarhub
Saturday, June 22nd, 2024

Newly-merged Janata Samajbadi Party leaders reach ECN for registration

23 April 2020  

Time taken to read : 3 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: The leaders of newly merged Janata Samajbadi Party have reached the Office of the Election Commission of Nepal to officially register the party.

They have reached the Office the ECN after they agreed to merge their two parties into Janata Samajbadi Party on Wednesday night.

It is learnt that leaders including Rajendra Shrestha, Krishna Sharma, Mithilesh Kumar, Phanindra Devkota have reached the Office to register the new party.

The agreement paper has been signed by Mahantha Thakur, Rajendra Mahato, Mahendra Raya Yadav, Sharat  Singh Bhandari from RJP while Dr Baburam Bhattarai, Upendra Yadav, Ashok Rai and Rajendrea Shrestha from Samajbadi Party.

They have already informed the ECN about the party merger and that the process of registering the new party is underway.

A meeting of the two Madesh-based parties agreed to go for a merger on Wednesday late night in Kathmandu. Both the parties have agreed to unify two days after Prime Minister KP Oli’s cabinet introduced the ordinances paving room for the split of the parties along with the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP).

The opposition parties, especially these two Madhes-based parties, had become alert about the ‘ill-intent’ of the ordinances as PM Oli had hinted at splitting these two parties after bringing the ordinance.

President Bidhya Bhandari had on Monday issued two ordinances to amend the provisions of Political Party Act and the Constitutional Council (Functions Duties and Powers) Act on the recommendation of the Council of Ministers.

The ordinance related to Political Party Act amended the provision of the act that would allow leaders of a party to split the party if they garner 40 per cent support either parliamentary party or in the central committee.

Both the parties have also agreed to place Mahanta Thakur at the helm of the party as of now.

The new party will use the flag of Samajbadi Party and election symbol RJP’s umbrella.

The decision to this effect was made after leaders of both the parties intensified efforts to unify their parties in the last two days.

Publish Date : 23 April 2020 11:10 AM

Israeli forces continue pounding central, southern Gaza

CAIRO: Israeli military forces pounded central and southern Gaza on

Motorcyclist dies in road mishap

MAHENDRANAGAR, KANCHANPUR: A motorcyclist has died in a road accident

Nepal-US International Film Festival underway

KATHMANDU: The 7th edition of the ‘Nepal-US International Film Festival’

West Indies achieves stunning 9-wicket victory against USA

KATHMANDU: West Indies secured a remarkable 9-wicket victory over the

Two way traffic resumes in Narayangadh-Muglin road

MUGLIN: Two-way traffic has resumed along the Narayangadh-Muglin road, which