Janata Samajbadi Party formally registered at EC « Khabarhub
Monday, June 24th, 2024

Janata Samajbadi Party formally registered at EC

07 June 2020  

Time taken to read : 3 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: The newly-formed Janata Samajbadi Party (JSP) has been registered at the Election Commission (EC) today.

The party submitted the names of the office bearers to the EC. The registration number of the party is 1392.

The party has decided to keep three chairmen including Dr Babu Ram Bhattarai as federal council Chairman, and Mahantha Thakur and Upendra Yadav as central council Chairmen.

Dr Bhattarai will be the top-ranked leader. The new party will have five office-bearers, and a 51-member central committee.

Earlier, the party had settled its ongoing struggle for the party leadership by making the provision for three senior leaders as party chairpersons.

In addition to the three chairpersons, senior leaders Rajendra Mahato and Ashok Rai will be in the party secretariat.

Samjbadi Party and Rastriya Janata Party had declared unification on April 22 to form a new party with the name Janata Samjbadi Party.

The provisions in the Act relating to the Political Party seek that the parties which go for unification or merger should apply to Election Commission within 45 days after such agreement.

The unifying parties should submit a copy of the agreement among many other documents to the Commission.

The agreement made to unite Samajbadi Party and Rastriya Janata Party passed 45 days on Saturday, however, as the 45th day turned out to be a holiday, the time for submitting the details got extended by one day, i.e. till Sunday.

After making a thorough investigation, the Election Commission will provide the party a certificate.

It should be recalled that the two parties united late night on to prevent possible split in the Socialist Party that was abetted by Prime Minister KP Oli.

The cabinet had on April 20 brought an ordinance allowing a party split with the support of 40 percent in either central committee or the parliamentary party.

The new party will have the flag of Socialist Party and election symbol ‘umbrella’ of RJP.

The new party will now have 34 seats in the parliament.

Publish Date : 07 June 2020 19:52 PM

Gold price up by Rs 300 per tola today

KATHMANDU: The price of gold increased by Rs 300 per

Flood-fed Melamchi sweeps away temporary bridge

SINDHUPALCHOWK: The flood triggered by incessant rainfall last night has

Blacktopping being done Birtamod-Sanishchare road section

BIRTAMOD: In Jhapa, the six-kilometer stretch of the Birtamod-Sanishchare road

NEB preparing to publish SEE results this week

KATHMANDU: The National Examination Board (NEB) is set to release