15 public holidays in Nepali New Year 2076 « Khabarhub
Sunday, June 16th, 2024

15 public holidays in Nepali New Year 2076

16 March 2019  

Time taken to read : 2 Minute

  • A
  • A
  • A

KATHMANDU: The Nepal government has decided to grant 15 days as public holidays in the coming Nepali new year 2076 BS.

The government made its decision on national holidays (except Saturdays) public in the national gazette issued on Friday.

According to the decision, national holidays include April 14 (Nepali New Year), May 1 (Labor Day), May 18 (Buddha Jayanti), September 3 (Constitution Day), October 5 – 9 (Dashain), October 27-29 (Tihar), February 21, 2020 (Shivaratri), March 9, 2020 (Holi/Hill), March 10, 2020 (Holi/Tarai), March 11, 2020 (Women Day).

The government had slashed 13 public holidays in the year 2075 BS. Various ethnic communities protested against the government’s decision to cut public holidays. Following the protest, the government had formed a review task-force on public holidays under the coordination Home Minister Ram Bahadur Thapa.

However, the government has given continuity to its previous decision, rejecting the task-force’s recommendation. The task-force had recommended to add 12 public holidays on January 3, 2019.




Publish Date : 16 March 2019 07:05 AM

HoR meeting taking place today

KATHMANDU: The meeting of the House of Representatives (HoR) is

President Paudel reaches Germany

KATHMANDU: President Ram Chandra Paudel reached Berlin on an official

Today’s foreign currency exchange rates

KATHMANDU: The Nepal Rastra Bank (NRB) has announced the foreign

Rain expected in four provinces, including Bagmati

KATHMANDU: The Weather Forecast Division has reported that the monsoon

Petrol to cost Rs 165 per liter from today

KATHMANDU: The Nepal Oil Corporation (NOC) has reduced the prices